top of page

Alexis Bailey (Photography)

Updated: Aug 3, 2020

Meet Alexis Bailey

Medical Student, Class of 2023, UA COM-P

Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I usually get up around 7, and the very first thing I do is make coffee. I drink at least 2 cups of coffee while I sit on my computer and check emails, scroll through some social media, and maybe do a bit of editing. By this time, it’s usually close to the start of class, so I will grab a quick bagel or boiled egg before I get started on Zoom lectures.

What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

After I finish Zoom lectures/meetings, I will make a quick sandwich or grab a granola bar. In quarantine, I haven’t been the most diligent about meals but instead find myself to be a bit more of a grazer. In the afternoon, I split my time between editing photos and watching lectures/answering Kaplan questions. I take breaks by cuddling my cat, Maya, and bunny, Frankie, and I will also take moments to water a houseplant here and there (I have a small jungle in my house with close to 100 plants so there is always one that needs watering).

What do you do for dinner?

My girlfriend Tayler and I usually decide who wants to cook or if we should order in. Then we decide if we should eat a healthy meal or an unhealthy meal. I love to cook and bake, but that usually leads us to the unhealthy road. Recently we’ve enjoyed lots of chicken with roasted veggies, salads, and homemade beef & broccoli. We also like to order in from Protein House and The Original ChopShop.

How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

I’m usually less focused by the end of the day, so I’ll stream some TV while I edit, squeeze in a workout, or piddle around the house cleaning/watering plants. It’s very unstructured time during quarantine, but I enjoy staying relaxed and grounded around the house. I usually get to bed by 11-12 so that I can get enough sleep.

What art are you doing and when do you do it?

My art is portrait photography, and right now I’m doing anywhere from 1-4 shoots per weekend. Most of my photography is engagement, family, and maternity, although it can vary a lot. Shooting outdoors allows me to safely social distance, too, which has allowed me to continue making art throughout the pandemic. The best time is in the evening, about 30 minutes before “golden hour.” My goal is to have the sun low enough to hide behind tall trees but high enough to give good, natural light for exposing my subjects’ faces. I then get to editing following the shoot, where I upload my photos to Lightroom and work on creating my bright and colorful final result.


What are you reading?

I most recently finished The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult, which was one of my favorite reads of all time. I have moved on to Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult!

What are you streaming?

The better question might be what am I *not* streaming! Since quarantine started, I’ve been watching ER from the beginning. It’s the perfect background show for editing and it makes me excited about medicine at the same time! I am also extremely excited to watch Hamilton on DisneyPlus.

How are you feeling?

Honestly, I am feeling overwhelmed. I feel incredibly grateful that I am safe and healthy at home, but the amount of unstructured time in my day has led to a sharp decline in productivity. This has also made me feel anxious and worried about my performance in school and my future. When I feel this way, I often talk with friends or visit my parents. As hard as it can be to give ourselves grace during this pandemic, I think we all have to realize that this time is trying and we are all doing our best.

What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

I really miss sitting in coffee shops for hours on end studying and editing photos. I look forward to frequenting my favorites spots again once Arizona’s cases are under control and I can do so safely.

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page