top of page

Ruoyan Zhu (Digital Art)

Updated: Jul 29, 2021

Meet Ruoyan Zhu

Medical Class of 2024

Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast? What time I get up is usually dictated by the time of my earliest obligation that day, ha ha! I am a heavy sleeper so I can just keep snoozing the morning away if there is nothing to stop me. I start the day with some coffee, and I like to mix it up in terms of what I have for breakfast. However, one of my go-to breakfast items is sourdough toast with some sweet or savory topping.

What happens next? What do you do for lunch? Next, begins the usual march through lectures and class! For lunch, I usually cook something simple that can be made quickly or have leftovers from the night before.

What do you do for dinner? I cook at home for most of my meals. Dinner usually is when I have time to make some more complicated dishes like soups or try new recipes.

How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed? I usually end up working on stuff/studying up to my bedtime since I intersperse my breaks throughout the day. I am in bed around 11 pm/12 am most days and try to avoid staying up later so that I am well rested for the following day.

What art are you doing and when do you do it? I do digital art and dabble a little in making short gif animations. During college, I started drawing a series of puns that combine different birds with pastries. It was just a fun and ridiculous thing to share with some friends, but I ended up keeping it going. Puns sort of became my thing and I am currently working on the 35th bird/bread pun. The eventual goal is 50! I do most of my drawing during the weekends following an exam but recently I have been trying to work it into my weekly schedule. I am hoping that allocating some time at the end of the day to draw will motivate me to get my work done!


What are you reading? I hate to admit it, but sadly I don’t read much these days. I like to savor books and the weeks are so fast-paced nowadays I feel like my mind can’t settle down enough to fully enjoy one. However, the last book I read, Being Mortal by Atul Gawande, was a great read and I highly recommend it!

What are you streaming? Oh gosh, this is going to make me sound super boring but currently, I don’t really watch much tv either. During the beginning of quarantine, my old roommate got me into playing indie games and since that can be quite a time sink, I told myself I could only pick one between that and tv shows. Currently, I am slowly working my way through a space exploration game. You are stuck in a time loop and play in increments of 22 minutes- racing to explore the different planets of an alien solar system before the sun supernovas and resets the game at the start. The time crunch can be a bit stressful at times but the visuals are so creative and it is a lot of fun figuring out a little bit more about the unique mechanics of the different planets each time and using what you learned to work out some mysteries throughout the solar system, which includes the cause of the supernova.

How are you feeling? Very ready for summer!!!

What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends? I am really looking forward to meeting up with a bunch of old friends! It’s been a while since I have hung out with them and chatting online/via text just is not the same. I miss talking with them about silly nonsense things and of course it will be over some delicious food!

82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page