top of page

Annapurna Chitnavis (Piano, Painting)

Meet Annapurna Chitnavis

Medical Student, Class of 2024


Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

My sleep schedule can vary depending on my daily commitments. Since I’m most productive at night, I typically stay up late and sleep in the next day if possible. Otherwise, I wake up in time for any morning lectures or active learning sessions. My first task is checking my email or social media and reviewing my goals for the day. When I can catch breakfast, it’s usually cereal or fruit.


What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

Next, I spend my mornings on zoom either in class or in meetings. I may take a short nap if needed. If I can grab lunch, I grab something quick from my freezer or heat up leftovers.


What do you do for dinner?

Dinner is my most consistent meal of the day! My go-to recipe is stir-frying whatever protein and vegetables are in my fridge. Lately, my favorite combo is marinated pork belly and yu choy. If I’ve had a particularly tiring day, I order takeout and support a local restaurant.


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

As a night owl, I like to concentrate my studying later in the day. I usually start studying after dinner until past midnight. Before bed, I may watch some YouTube or a couple episodes of TV shows. I don’t have a set bedtime, but it can be around 1-2am or earlier if I fall asleep studying.


What art are you doing and when do you do it?

I have been involved in the arts for as long as I can remember. I’ve been playing piano since I was 3, sang in the Phoenix Girls Chorus from ages 6-13, and played the viola throughout elementary school. In high school, I started painting. My favorite medium is acrylics, but I also dabble in oils and watercolor. I also love to sew and crochet. Nowadays, I am not able to dedicate as much time to my art as I would like. I still make time to sew gifts for friends and family in my free time.


What are you reading? I haven’t been able to read for fun lately, but Grit by Angela Duckworth and Mindset by Carol Dweck are two books that have played a major role in my personal growth and development. What are you streaming? I’m currently rewatching my all-time favorite TV show, Bojack Horseman. It’s the perfect combination of satire, surreal humor, and dark comedy. Despite being an animated series about a talking horse in a universe of talking animals, it is such an accurate portrayal of mental illness and substance abuse disorders. How are you feeling? To be honest, I am struggling. For many people, myself included, the pandemic has either precipitated or worsened mental health conditions. I am deeply grateful for our medical school’s counseling services and my wonderful classmates who have been an immense source of support. What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends? The first thing I’m going to do is travel! Right before quarantine, I had plans to visit my family in India before medical school started. I haven’t been back since 2015, so I can’t wait to have that opportunity once again.

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page