top of page

Ceci Chou (Drawing; Music)

Meet Ceci Chou

Medical Student, Class of 2021, UA COM-P



Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I've been getting up around 7-8 while on my research month. First thing I do is drink a big glass of water - I'm terrible at hydrating throughout the day and my water intake just goes downhill from there. Breakfast is something light - yogurt with fruit, oatmeal, and some hot tea with milk.

What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

I spend a couple hours on my work, which currently has been my Scholarly Project and residency applications. Lunch is usually a big salad and the best part, a dark chocolate peanut butter cup (or two) from Trader Joe's.

What do you do for dinner?

I've been enjoying cooking dinner with my sister and her husband. We'll have a variety of cuisines ranging from Taiwanese noodles and braised pork belly rice to pesto pasta and stew. Of course, I wouldn't have gotten this far without making gourmet instant ramen (favorites are Samyang Spicy Chicken and Prima Taste Laksa) which has been an exam-week treat since first year!

How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

Right now, watching a couple episodes of Schitt's Creek and then reading before bed around 11 or midnight.

What art are you doing and when do you do it?

I enjoyed card-making, scrapbooking, and making canvas prints before medical school, but in the last couple years, have spent more time doodling and drawing while studying. I've also tried to keep up with music in a couple ways: performing fun two-piano or four-hand pieces with my sister and joining a country-folk-rock band as pianist and bassist. This has been one of the best parts of staying in-state and close to family and friends! During quarantine, my sister and I have been working on Barber's Souvenirs for Piano Four Hands and recorded one of the pieces in that set.




What are you reading?

Hyperion, by Dan Simmons

What are you streaming?

Re-watching an oldie but a goodie, Chuck

How are you feeling?

Equal parts eager and anxious for the upcoming virtual interview season. I'm excited for our class to find out where we're going for residency!

What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

Travel to see family and give them a huge hug.



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page