top of page

Daniel Oheb (Drawing)

Meet Daniel Oheb

Medical Student, Class of 2024



Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I wake up at around 7:30 and wash my face. As long as I have enough time, I conduct my daily meditation practice in the morning. Then, I head to the kitchen for my morning coffee and some cereal!


What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

Next, I go to class/meetings until lunch time. My roommate and I typically eat at the same time, taking a moment out of our day to make progress on whatever show we're currently watching. For the past few months it’s been the animated Star Wars: The Clone Wars


What do you do for dinner?

My roommate and I cook recipes from a meal prep kit we get delivered every week. It's a great way for us to learn how to cook instead of having fast food all the time!


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

I make a point to stop studying at 10pm, and no later. That gives me a few hours to watch some anime, read a few comics, and take some time for myself before I go to bed around midnight.


What art are you doing and when do you do it?

Drawing has been a method of coping with my anxiety and depression since college. I alternate between drawing/inking in my sketchbook and on my iPad. Recently, I’ve been using the iPad more because of the wide variety of effects and brushes I can play around with. My art is a reflection of how I feel in any given moment, a way for me to get my thoughts on paper rather than having them sit in my mind where they might not be conducive to a positive mindset. I mostly draw when I feel stressed, anxious, or depressed because I think it is important that I document those moments to see how I've grown. More recently, I've just been drawing the first thing that comes to my mind, whether it is positive or negative.



What are you reading?

Whether it's one of the twenty comic book series I regularly subscribe to, or books from the ever growing stack of graphic novels I accumulate, I'm usually reading two or three books at a time. Right now, I've been trying to get through the Star Wars books, which are just as good, if not better than the movies. I also recently read "Kraven's Last Hunt," one of Spider-Man's most famous stories. Next, I'll likely be catching up on my X-Men Comics as well as my backlog of Daredevil graphic novels!


What are you streaming?

Recently, I've been watching "The Promised Neverland," a horror anime as well as "WandaVision," Marvel's new TV show.


How are you feeling?

I've recently felt more burnt out than I ever have. The past block of classes have been very difficult, and I'm certain I'm suffering from what many refer to as Zoom fatigue. When I feel burnt out, it becomes harder for me to express myself artistically as I no longer feel like I have time. That is a balance I have yet to strike, but will keep working on. I've also been a little homesick, but a visit to my hometown of Granada Hills, CA is on the horizon! Emotion is a fluid thing, and I'm happy to say that with a little rest and time things will get better.


What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

Go to a movie theater. The last thing I saw was "Scott Pilgrim vs. The World" in my favorite Los Angeles arthouse theater last February. Movie theaters are some of my favorite places, and I miss that experience dearly.


131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page