top of page

David Beyda, MD (Wood working)

Meet David Beyda, MD

Professor and Chair, Department of Bioethics and Medical Humanism


Describe your morning - what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

My wife Charlcye and I get up around 5:30 am, have coffee sitting outside and listen to an audio book (currently “The Black Echo” – we are big fans of Harry Bosch). Breakfast? Cereal, oatmeal, or on occasion an “Egg in a hole”.

What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

I start the day by writing at least 1000 words of whatever is in my mind – stream of consciousness, or I add to or polish a short story or an essay that I am working on. Then it is med school stuff for a few hours then on my flight simulator (I’m a private pilot) for a quick flight, then an hour of wood working, then lunch: deli sandwiches.

What do you do for dinner?

I do the cooking (Charlcye does the clean-up). I went to cooking school years ago, and enjoy the process of planning and making the meal (usually something French).

How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

We spend time together as a family with our adult special needs son Justin, talking about our day, having dinner and watching either “The Price is Right” or “I Love Lucy”. (No judgments please.) We’re all in bed by 9:30 pm.

What art are you doing and when do you do it?

Wood working usually in the morning.


What are you reading?

Going through all the “Harry Bosch” books.

What are you streaming?

We just finished the “Hunter”

How are you feeling?

Overall nervous, and concerned that we are falling behind in mitigating this COVID-19 pandemic.

What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

We’re off to see our son, daughter in law and our 2 grandchildren in Texas.

121 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page