top of page

Isabel Strouse (Painting, Photography)

Meet Isabel Strouse

Class of 2024, UA COM-P




Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I usually get up by around 8am every morning (unless I have other mandatory classes/meetings at 8, then I’m up earlier.) Once I’m awake, I give myself around 5 minutes in bed to mentally prepare for the day. I check my phone, quickly peek at my emails and any missed texts or calls, then (usually reluctantly - I love sleep) get up and begin my day. I’ll start a pot of coffee while I get ready, then if I have time, make my favorite go-to breakfast - avocado toast with an over easy egg, Cholula, and Trader Joe’s Everything But the Bagel seasoning. If I’m running short on time, a breakfast bar, yogurt, or banana will also do. Then, typically with just a few minutes to spare, I make it over to my desk to hop on Zoom/One45 for morning class.


What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

Next I usually spend my mornings in class, watching independent learning modules, or doing some self-study - depending on my schedule for that day. If it’s the weekend, I’ll take the morning to myself, and either go on a hike, volunteer, or get some chores out of the way. For lunch, I typically make myself a sandwich with side fruit, or throw together a mix of whatever I can find in my fridge. Leftovers are my favorite!


What do you do for dinner?

On weeknights, my dinners are typically fairly basic. I like quick and easy meals with lots of taste. Roasted veggies, salmon, pasta, and salad are my go-to’s. But, my favorite type of food is Mexican, so when I go out to eat, I love anywhere I can get good tacos or pozole. I am a big foodie, so I love exploring the amazing food options in Phoenix (as frequently as my medical student wallet will allow.)


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

After dinner, I usually have enough steam left to study for a few more hours. I’m a night owl and am usually my most productive in the evenings, so I like to take advantage of that before calling it a night. I typically work until around 11 or midnight, then prep for the next day, shower, and get ready for bed. On less busy days, I use my evenings to call/FaceTime friends and family, watch one of my favorite TV shows, listen to music, go for a long run or walk, or do some reflection, which is my favorite form of self-care.


What art are you doing and when do you do it?

Art has been a major part of who I am since I was a little girl. My mom used to say I was dancing and drawing before I could walk or talk. When I was younger, most of my time was spent in drawing, painting, photography, musical theatre, and dance. With my busy medical school schedule, I have less time for these activities, but drawing, painting, dance, and photography have persisted as some of my dearest hobbies. I have always been fascinated by capturing and understanding the details in nature - I think this is what connects me both to science and to these art forms. In my spare time, usually on breaks from school or over the weekends, I’ll work on my art. These days, my medium is watercolor. In non-COVID eras, I love spending my free time salsa dancing, or going out into nature with my Canon 40D and capturing some of Arizona’s beauty.



What are you reading?

I am not reading anything for fun at the moment, but my all-time favorite book is called “When Breath Becomes Air” by Paul Kalanithi. It is a tragically moving memoir written by Dr. Kalanithi, a neurosurgery fellow about to complete his training when he is diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer. Kalanithi was a brilliant, contemplative, philosophical physician-scientist from Arizona who frequently reflected on the relationship between the mind and the brain; philosophy and science; what it means to possess life; then reflected on these relationships as they pertained to his own life while he was sick. As an Arizonan who experienced my father’s battle with lung cancer, and as an aspiring neurosurgeon myself, I feel tied to Kalanithi, and his story has been a huge source of inspiration for me.


What are you streaming?

I just finished “The Queen’s Gambit” on Netflix (highly recommend!) and am now just about a season into “The Crown.” I finished “Schitt’s Creek” awhile back, but it is my favorite go-to for a short, light-hearted way to decompress before bed.


How are you feeling?

Lately I am feeling tired. Navigating my first year of medical school online in the middle of a pandemic is an experience I never anticipated having. While it has been challenging in all the traditional ways one expects medical school to be challenging, it has also presented new adversities my classmates and I have had to overcome. That being said, I am also feeling hopeful. Life will always present us with hardships - some bigger than others. It is up to us to choose how we approach each day. Finding the positive is how I get through the hard times. I know that one day I will be serving my future patients in their times of need, and that keeps me motivated.


What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

Go to a concert! I miss the experience of live music more than almost anything. After that, definitely return to salsa dancing, travel, and look forward to finally pursuing my medical education in person alongside my amazing classmates.

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page