top of page

Keith Woodside (Singer)

Meet Keith Woodside

Occupational Therapy Doctoral Student


Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I usually get up around 8:30 am and the first thing I do is check my phone. I know it’s been said that you shouldn’t, but I like to check my email for school and my messages to see if there is anything pressing to respond to. I usually go to a local coffee shop called Copper Star Coffee and grab a coffee and a breakfast bagel sandwich or I’ll make myself oatmeal or scrambled eggs. On the way to the coffee shop I love listening to the radio shows in the morning.


What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

During the semester I look at my schedule for the day and see if there is anything that I need to review or get ready for class and then log in to my first zoom meeting of the day. If I’m up early with not a lot to do I will usually jump onto YouTube and watch videos. I have a wide variety of channels so it’s usually pretty entertaining and tends to get my brain going.


What do you do for dinner?

Dinner is usually something simple at home or I’ll pick up something from the restaurant that I work at. I really like making a pesto chicken pasta at home with edamame noodles. It’s so good and really easy to make if you buy a rotisserie chicken. I like to work out right around the middle of the day as well so we can add a protein shake to that also.


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

Ending the day usually consists of me chatting with friends on FaceTime or via text, watching Netflix or preparing/finishing assignments or readings that are due for class. I try to find a balance and only work on schoolwork until 5 pm and then focusing on winding down in the late evening. Unless I have procrastinated and then I’ll work on an assignment as late as I need to. I usually go to bed around 11:30 pm to midnight. I work later hours over the weekend at a restaurant as a server and have always been a night owl.


What art are you doing and when do you do it?

I love to sing. I do it pretty much all of the time. I perform concerts in the shower, I hold tiny desk concerts at my desk at home daily, and I when I really feel like belting it out, I present my traveling one man show in the car. I have been singing since I was four years old and I don’t think it will ever stop. I love singing sad songs for some reason and then post either snippets or full covers on Instagram or YouTube. That makes it sound very official but honestly, it’s just me sharing with my friends.




What are you reading?

I haven’t had time to read books for personal enjoyment lately. Although I must admit, it has never been a leisure activity that I’ve enjoyed. When I do read for personal enjoyment, I tend to read books on self-improvement or psychology. The last book I read was “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg which was rather interesting.


What are you streaming?

What am I not streaming? I am currently trying to finish Netflix given the amount of extra time I have on break. I have recently finished: Away, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Star Trek Voyager, Grey’s Anatomy, and The Great British Baking show. I just started on the Mandalorian. I also stream various YouTube channels that review new tech, the Try Guys, singing covers, and various personalities.


How are you feeling?

I’m 2020 good ha. This year has been a tough one for a lot of people generally. I have worked really hard to focus on what I can control and to find the silver lining or positives in everything. I haven’t always been successful but it’s a mindset. I’m feeling very grateful for my friends and family as well as the opportunities and experiences afforded to me through school and my personal life. I am hopeful for better things to come and excited to finish school and get out there.


What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

I want to see all of my friends! Hopefully our cohort can organize a big get together and we can all spend time catching up in person! That’s one thing I have missed over the last several months. My cohort is really tight knit so being able to see each other without worrying about COVID-19 will be pretty amazing. I’m saving travel plans for when I graduate so I can treat myself.

173 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page