top of page

Marcus Childs (Photography)

Meet Marcus Childs

Medical Student, Class of 2024


Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

So, I usually wake up at 7am-ish. I roll out of bed, pet my dog Indy and give him some kisses because he is just the sweetest boy. Then I go shower and get ready. I take Indy for a quick walk and bathroom break. Then I head inside to make breakfast while listening to NPR for a quick news update. I am a pretty regimented person and no breakfast to me is complete without eggs. I usually sauté onion, garlic, bell pepper, mushroom, and spinach in a pan with some olive oil. Add 4 eggs and maybe some fruit on the side. This is my go-to breakfast. Filling, healthy, cheap, quick, and easy!


What happens next?

After breakfast, I usually sit at my desk and study for the day in my apartment since the pandemic is still ongoing. I have a standing desk so I will sit, stand, and even walk on a treadmill while I study. I listen to music and take study breaks to walk Indy.


What do you do for lunch?

Around 12-1pm I will make lunch. Right now, it is toasted 9 grain wheat (slightly burnt), leafy greens, spicy tuna salad on top and some clementine’s on the side. If I am still hungry after, I make some popcorn to snack on while I go back to studying.


What do you do for dinner?

Since I follow a meal plan my dinner is usually the same (roughly). I have roasted chicken breast, a side of steamed rice, and a veggie (right now it is green beans. I always alternate what I put on my protein and rice to keep things tasting good. I have an orange chicken sauce I’ve been adding to my chicken recently and for my rice I add some rice vinegar, sesame oil, and a little bit of soy sauce. Maybe a sprinkle of salt depending on what goes on the chicken.


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

I try to end studying relatively early, but it really depends on the day, what obligations I have, etc. Once I am finished though, I like to check in with myself and see what my mood is. Sometimes I am feeling antsy, so I get up and go to the gym now that I am fully vaccinated. Other times, I text my climbing partner and go rock climbing. Sometimes I go to my partner’s house for some quality time or if I am feeling drained, I will just play videogames on my computer so my brain can cool off. As for bedtime, I would say my usual is midnight. I like to stay up late and wake up early. If I could not sleep, I would. I really like to have fun and get the most out of every day that I can. Especially once I am finished studying.

What art are you doing and when do you do it?

Photography is my #1 way to express my artistic side. Photography can happen whenever and wherever; I don’t necessarily schedule it into my life. When I go rock climbing, I can attach my camera to my climbing harness. I turned my living room into a photography studio for spur of the moment portraits or some still life type photos. I love trying different types of photography and refuse to “specialize” in a certain genre. Portrait, landscape, macro, wildlife, still, nighttime, etc. I have come to discover that I am developing a more “dark style” of imagery. I like contrasts in light and the moody feel it can portray. I am also enjoying symbolic imagery: when one image can carry multiple meaning. It has so much power in such simplicity and I love being able to create that. It happens when it happens, it is a very organic process.


What are you reading?

It pains me to say this but I am not reading anything right now. School is so intense that after reading lectures and presentations and emails I don’t want to read anymore. I do have some books on the list: I have all the books to “the Song of Fire and Ice” I really want to read! I am a HUGE fantasy nerd.


What are you streaming?

I am currently re-watching all of the Game of Thrones episodes with my boyfriend. He hasn’t seen any of them yet, so it has been fun seeing how much he loves this show.


How are you feeling?

I am feeling pretty tired to be honest. This school year has really tested all of us and I have found a healthy rhythm, but it still takes mental energy. That combined with the rigor of my schooling can really take a toll. But outside of the pandemic I am healthy, hopeful, and grateful that I was able to get vaccinated and looking forward to start vaccinating others!


What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

I am a simple man. I cannot wait to go back to a movie theatre and watch a movie without fear. I’m looking forward to going out dancing to good music and watching performances again. I am hoping to get to go to Disneyland too! Who knows what the future holds?


72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page