top of page

Meghna Jayaraman (Woodworking, Drawing)

Meet Meghna Jayaraman

Medical Student, Class of 2024



Describe your morning – what time do you get up, what do you do first, next and what is for breakfast?

I’m usually up and at it by 7:30 AM. I’m a creature of habit so I like waking up to a room full of sunlight and giving myself time to equilibrate before I start my day! On days when we have mandatory classes that start at 8, I try (emphasis on the try) to wake up a bit earlier, so I still have a 15-30 minute buffer to plan my day out and catch up on messages and emails. Once I’m up, I’ll usually make myself a cup of tea and grab some breakfast. When I have extra time, I’ll treat myself to some avocado toast and smoothie, but 90% of the time I’m already running behind schedule by this point, so I just grab a cup of yogurt and a bowl of frosted mini wheats to start my day. Then I mosey back over to my room to set up for zoom school!


What happens next? What do you do for lunch?

Next, I usually start off by checking my One45 schedule and personal calendar. Ever since starting medical school, I find myself forgetting any and all tasks unless I write them down, so my iPhone calendar has taken on a whole new level of importance of late! After that I usually will attend any morning lectures. I like to watch lectures in live time because I find it helps me keep myself more accountable for going through class material in a timely manner. For lunch, I try my best to meal prep on weekends so that I can throw together quick meals during the week, but if it’s a test week then all bets are off and I probably frequent Chipotle a bit more than I should!


What do you do for dinner?

My dinner schedules vary a lot depending on the week. On busier weeks, by the end of the day, I don’t usually have much brain power left over to think too hard about what to cook, so it’s usually something quick and light for dinner. Otherwise, if it’s a lighter week or the weekend, I might check out some new restaurant or pop over to my parents’ house to eat dinner with them. I’m a big-time foodie, so moving to Downtown Phoenix, where I’m surrounded by great food options, in the middle of a pandemic has been a struggle to say the least! However, I’m looking forward to exploring more this year when things hopefully start feeling a bit more normal.


How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

I usually end the day around 10:30 PM. I’ve never been a huge night owl and I have a hard time fighting the urge to crawl into bed once it gets any later. My nighttime routine generally consists of a shower and some skin care/self-care. After that, I like to wind down in bed and respond to any messages I’ve missed throughout the day. My most recent guilty pleasure has been TikTok, so on nights when I have a little extra time, I like to treat myself to some light-hearted TikTok time. After a busy day, however, I’m out like a light approximately 5 minutes after I get into bed.


What art are you doing and when do you do it?

I started woodworking last summer when everyone was picking up a quarantine hobby. Naturally, as someone just dipping their toes into a whole new art form and trade, I decided to start with an entire desk and matching shelves. Since then, I’ve tried my hand at a couple cutting boards/serving trays. I try to learn how to use a new power tool with each project I pick! Beyond woodworking, I’ve also always loved drawing and sketching, I’ve even taken a series of classes in ceramics. For me, the best method of relaxation is to use my brain in a completely school-unrelated manner. I love hands on projects and trying to figure out and merge new skills. Throughout my life I’ve always found myself gravitating towards puzzle solving and integrating new ideas and skills. It’s part of what made engineering so appealing to me as an undergraduate degree, and medicine so enticing as a career. I love the idea of using my hands to create something beautiful and tangible from just raw materials.

I mostly start on projects when I need a mental break. I’ve found that keeping my brain occupied, but in a completely different way than usual, serves as the perfect stress break, while giving me a sense of accomplishment and pride as well.



What are you reading?

I’m not reading anything at the moment, but I do have a “to read” list that’s getting longer by the day! Currently, at the top of that list is Pride and Prejudice. I have the movie practically memorized so I think it’s high time I read the original work!


What are you streaming?

I just finished the Queen’s Gambit and having been always the little nerdy girl in chess club growing up I was completely taken by the show, the story, and its aesthetic. It’s inspired me to build a chess set from scratch as my next woodworking project!


How are you feeling?

I’m feeling a bit spent at the moment. Medical school is hard, virtual medical school is harder, and this definitely wasn’t the environment I had always envisioned starting medical school in. That being said, I’m also feeling incredibly lucky for all of the wonderful people I have met over the course of this year. I’m thankful for the friends I’ve made and the relationships we’ve forged. I’m looking ahead to more normal and social times. And I’m excited to get involved in some clinical settings this summer!


What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

The first thing I will be doing is travelling to Europe! I have a long overdue trip to Spain and Scotland that was originally planned for last summer, so I have quite a bit of time and exploration to make up for, and I intend to see it through! :)


458 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page