top of page

Michael Foley, MD (Photography)

Updated: Aug 3, 2020

Meet Michael Foley, MD

Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology


What do you do for lunch?

I bring my lunch every day! If I don’t, I tend to eat too much at the cafeteria! LOL. I most often eat my lunch in my office and listen to music to find respite. I then join our residents and fellows for the noon lecture series to listen to the latest and greatest approaches to managing the challenging patients in our field.

What do you do for dinner?

My wife and I eat an early dinner. If we did not take a hike in the morning, we do so in the evening. We take this time to tell each other about our day's activities and challenges. We always begin our conversation by telling each other about the best things that happened to us during the day. Thereafter, the challenges we faced do not seem so bad. :-)

How do you end the day and what time do you go to bed?

We talk to our kids, plan for the weekend or for our next adventure. We just moved to a new house so we are enjoying our new environment and prepare for a new Great Dane puppy coming in September. We are both so excited!

What art are you doing and when do you do it?

I do fine art photography. I love doing street photography, people and landscapes. I focus on capturing the essence our travels by finding the best image to capture the spirt of our adventure. Then make it art.


What are you reading?

I read leadership and philosophy books that help me manage change and decision making. My latest reads are Upstream by Dan Heath and Decisive by Chip and Dan Heath.

What are you streaming?

My wife and I love Netflix and Prime series. We are currently watching the series Homeland.

How are you feeling?

I am now feeling more comfortable and well. At first, when we were ordered to stay at home, I felt anxious and unsettled. I questioned the value I bring to my work and then, by self-imposed necessity, launched into what I do best, lead. I decided that I needed to provide leadership for how we manage pregnant Covid-19 patients and how we protect our care team. This gave me the much-needed purpose and direction I needed. I yearned to contribute productively and this approach best aligned with my strengths.

What’s the first thing you’re going to do when the quarantine ends?

Meet with our friends and teach karate at our Center for Humane Living (CenterforHumaneLiving.org). I so miss my CHL family relationships!

81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page